« All News

Bowled Over: Maccabi Ajax Cricket’s Unforgettable Presentation Night

In a revamp of the traditional award ceremony, the Maccabi Senior cricket team held their presentation at the Caulfield Lawn Bowls Club on Saturday night the 22nd of April. Brilliantly hosted by life Member Mark Soffer, and with other legends and sponsors in attendance, the presentation night was a major success.

The awards were all hotly contested, with many players capable of winning any number of them. As it is, there can only be a few winners on the night, with Nadav Lowinger winning the most improved, finals player of the year for his 124 in the grand final, club leading wicket taker, and making the team of the year. Ari Fell was also awarded finals player of the year for his 95 not out in the semi final, along with the coveted rising star award.

Captain of the development team, Simeon Goldenberg won the best clubman, for his efforts in creating, building and sustaining the development team, and ensuring they are integrated into the wider club. The development team BnF was a 3 way tie at the end of the vote count, with Zac Onas, Mitch Goldenberg and Hayden Goldberg all tying, in the first instance in Maccabi history of a 3 way tie for this award.

Devon Melzak won the dedicated training award, and not to be outdone, his older brother Bailey, who is also the current captain of the First XI, won the most consistent cricketer, First XI bowling award and was named captain in the team of the year.

Jeremy Hoppe won the most determined cricketer, and just pipped out Benji Jones by 1 vote for the prestigious Ray Saffer award. Benji Jones didn’t go home empty handed, as he won the First XI batting award, club leading run scorer and won the club championship award.

Daniel Jones was self nominated for the best fieldsman of the year, but this was ratified by the selection committee, as he took home this award.

Zak Fleisher-Sharbanee won the outstanding service to the club award, and was also named in the team of the year.

The order of the team of the year was as follows:

  1. Benji Jones
  2. Ari Fell
  3. Zak Fleisher-Sharbanee
  4. Jeremy Hoppe
  5. Charlie Gross
  6. Hayden Goldberg
  7. Gilad Meyerowitz
  8. Nadav Lowinger
  9. Zac Onas
  10. Devon Melzak
  11. Bailey Melzak
  12. Shmuli Rosenbaum

For more information about the Maccabi Ajax Cricket Club, Click Here.

Recent Posts

Glen Eira Community Awards 2024

Maccabi Victoria Honoured at Glen Eira Community Awards 2024 We are proud to announce that Maccabi Victoria has been recognised as a joint runner-up for the Community Group of the

Read More