« All News

2021 Maccabi Victoria Volunteer & Sport Award Winners

2021 Maccabi Sports Awards

This year’s night of nights on the Maccabi calendar, the Maccabi Sports Awards was held on Thursday 2nd June. For the first time the presentation combined the New South Wales, Victorian and National Sport Award presentations into one special event. The event was streamed live across this great sporting nation of ours, and watched around the world by our Maccabi family. It was hosted by television and radio personality Daniel Garb, who did a stellar job interviewing award winners and Maccabi personalities. The Maccabi Sports Awards was a wonderful occasion as it highlighted all the Australian Jewish sporting achievements of the past year.

Canoe and Kayak superstar Jessica Fox was awarded the Maccabi National Outstanding Sportswoman of the Year for her inspiring performances at the Tokyo Olympic Games, winning gold and bronze medals in the C1 Canoe Slalom and K1 Kayak Slalom events. Steven Solomon was awarded the Maccabi National Outstanding Sportsman of the Year for his sensational performances in athletics including making the semi-finals and running a person best in the 400 metres event at the Tokyo Olympic Games. His consistency and leadership helped him become the team captain of the Australian Athletics team.

From Maccabi Victoria, Jemima Montag was awarded Maccabi Victoria Outstanding Sportswoman of the Year for her outstanding performances in race walking at the Tokyo Olympic Games and other national and international athletics events. Jemima also broke Jan Saville’s twenty-two year old Australian record in the 20 kilometre walk. Cue sports sensation Marc Fridman was awarded the Maccabi Victoria Outstanding Sportsman of the Year for his consistent performances in snooker and billiards becoming a dual Under 21 State Champion.

The ever-amazing Myer Vorchheimer was awarded both the Maccabi National Outstanding Masters Sportsman of the Year and Maccabi Victoria Outstanding Masters Sportsman of the Year for his incredible performances in athletics at the Victorian Track and Field Championships. Layla Bloom was awarded the Maccabi Victoria Outstanding Junior Sportswoman of the Year as the weightlifting star was ranked in the world top 15 for her age in 2021.

Rising star Ori Drabkin won multiple awards, as he was awarded the Maccabi National Outstanding Junior Sportsman of the Year, the Maccabi Victoria Outstanding Junior Sportsman of the Year and the Maccabi Victoria Outstanding All Abilities Sportsperson of the year, due to his amazing performances in state and national athletics competitions and being selected in the Australian Athletics team for the Oceania Athletic Championships.

The inaugural Maccabi National Outstanding Service Award was awarded to Sam Gamsu and Giselle Berlinski for their hard work and dedication in organising the Australian Maccabiah team and delegation for the 21st Maccabiah Games coming up in July. The inaugural Maccabi Life National Wellbeing Award was awarded to Professor Paul Zimmet AO.

Maccabi Australia is now looking forward to the next major sporting event on the calendar, the 21st Maccabiah Games which are being held in Israel next month.

  • Ori Drabkin: 2021 Maccabi Outstanding Junior Sportsman of the year, 2021 Maccabi Outstanding All Abilities Sportsperson of the year, Athletics
  • Layla Bloom: 2021 Maccabi Outstanding Junior Sportswoman of the year, Weightlifting
  • Myer Vorcheimer: 2021 Maccabi Outstanding Masters Sportsman of the year, Athletics
  • Mark Fridman: 2021 Maccabi Outstanding Sportsman of the year, Snooker
  • Jemima Montag: 2021 Maccabi Outstanding Sportswoman of the year, Athletics

2021 Maccabi Volunteer Awards

On Sunday evening, May 22, 2022, the Maccabi Victoria Volunteer Awards Presentation took place at the Caulfield Park Bowls Club. This event celebrated and recognized the invaluable contributions made by volunteers in various Maccabi Victoria clubs.

Brian Swersky, President of Maccabi Victoria, delivered a speech during the awards evening, highlighting the significance of volunteers in their organization. Swersky emphasized that volunteers are the backbone of Maccabi clubs and programs, stating that without their dedication and hard work, the clubs would not exist. Swersky also expressed his appreciation for the Maccabi Presidents and their committees, who tirelessly work to ensure the smooth running and growth of the clubs.

The event honored volunteers from different Maccabi Victoria clubs, with the Maccabi Victoria Club Volunteer Award Winners listed below:

  • Maccabi All Abilities Group: Barbara Bejer
  • Maccabi Athletic Club: Adam Bogatin
  • Maccabi Victoria Basketball Club: Rhonda Nussbaum
  • Maccabi AJAX Junior Cricket Club: Antony Friedman
  • Maccabi AJAX Senior Cricket Club: Mark Soffer
  • AJAX Junior Football Club: Jeff Alford
  • AJAX Amateur Football Club: Joe Nankin
  • Maccabi Victoria Golf Club: Tony Beaconsfield
  • Maccabi Hockey Club: Simon Krampel
  • Maccabi AJAX Lawn Bowls Club: Gary Lasky
  • Maccabi AJAX Netball Club: Romi Zaslavsky
  • Maccabi Squash Club: John Gould
  • Maccabi FC Caulfield: Kevin Milstein
  • Maccabi AJAX Swimming Club: Mark Roseman and Clive Aaron
  • Maccabi Table Tennis Club: Paul Bronstein
  • Maccabi Tennis Club: Derek Haskin
  • AJAX Maccabi Water Polo Club: Ross Heideman

Three major perpetual awards were also presented during the event. The first was the President’s Award, which was given to Mark Roseman and Clive Aaron for their substantial involvement in initiating and spearheading the establishment of Maccabi Aquatics, which transformed the road ahead for Maccabi swimming. The second award was the Len Bogatin Award, which recognized Rhonda Nussbaum for her outstanding service to Maccabi Victoria and Jewish Sport. Nussbaum has been the driving force of the Maccabi Basketball club since 2017, ensuring that over 600 members were able to get on the court every week for two seasons each year. Finally, the Jacquie Lerner Next Gen Volunteer Award, an inaugural award, recognized young volunteers and leaders at Maccabi Victoria. Marcus Frajman was the first recipient of this award for his dedication to the Maccabi Tennis club.

The Maccabi Victoria Volunteer Awards Presentation was a testament to the importance of volunteers in the success of Maccabi Victoria clubs and programs. It highlighted the tireless efforts and dedication of individuals who are committed to promoting Jewish sport and community involvement.

Recent Posts

Tee Up for Israel

Tee Up for Israel Show your support in these challenging times – step up to the tee and make a difference   Tuesday August 20th Shotgun start at 12:30PM: Cranbourne

Read More