« All News

Maccabi Ajax Senior Cricket Presentation

On Saturday night the 11th of May, Maccabi Ajax Cricket Club held their annual presentation night. It was a night to celebrate a successful season, where 3 teams finished the season as minor premiers, and 1 team went on to win the premiership. A number of award winners were celebrated, with past players, current members, life members and sponsors all in attendance, hosted by club secretary Eytan Epstein.

The night was made even more special, as Benji Jones was awarded life membership, moving him into a very distinguished group of people. Benji’s performances, commitment and dedication as a player, captain, chairman of selectors and committee member made it an easy decision to elevate him.

The Ray Saffer award, which is voted on by the umpires at the conclusion of each home and away match from all grades, finished in dramatic fashion, with Amir Meyerowitz narrowly (less than 1 vote) winning the award from Jeremy Hoppe and Zak Fleisher. Amir won a heap of awards on the night, including best player of the finals, thanks to his century in the semi final, and 84 in the grand final. He also won the most consistent cricketer, owing to his 600 runs and 7 scores above 50. Finally he won the Leonard Burman club champion, which is awarded to the First XI player who has the most points based on runs, wickets and catches.

Asher Kave, who is the grandson of club legend Barry Kave, won the development team BnF, as well as the bowling award for the development team for his 23 wickets at 11.78. David Gelbart won the batting award in that grade with 490 runs at 81.67.

Josh Bereson who is new to the club, won most dedicated trainer, while Mitch Goldenberg won the most determined cricketer. Zak Pollak who is the Third XI  and premiership captain won the most improved cricketer, where he made great strides, including a top score of 96. Ben Kupshik who was a first time captain, and captained the Second XI, won best clubman, as well as the league bowling award. Noah Goldberg won the Michael Klinger Rising star award, after playing an integral role in the First XI’s push for a premiership. Josh Rotstein was awarded the best fielder, while Bailey Melzak who is the First XI captain, won the outstanding service to the club, for his role of brining the committee and players together.

Devon Melzak won the club aggregate bowling award (27 wickets), named after Barry Kave, as well as the Third XI bowling award. Elijah Mills who was new to the club this year won the aggregate batting award for his 509 runs at 63.63, as well as the Third XI batting award.

Zak Fleisher won the First XI batting award with 453 runs at 56.63, in addition to the players MVP, while Josh Rotstein won the bowling with 20 wickets at 13.7. Shmuli Rosenbaum won the Second XI batting with 321 at 45.86 while Veteran Simon Fisher won the bowling with 19 wickets at 8.21.

Overall it was a very successful night, and bodes well for the upcoming season.

Recent Posts

Glen Eira Community Awards 2024

Maccabi Victoria Honoured at Glen Eira Community Awards 2024 We are proud to announce that Maccabi Victoria has been recognised as a joint runner-up for the Community Group of the

Read More